Newport Wix Logo.png

Landkey Road, Barnstaple, Devon, EX32 9BW
Telephone: 01271 376252    Fax: 01271 372056

© 2019 by Newport Community School Primary Academy





Senior Leadership Team

Annette Yates



NPQH 2005

BA Ed Biology & PE University of Exeter

A levels: Biology, Pure Maths & Statistics and Chemistry


Deputy Safeguarding Lead

Clare MacAllister

School Business Manager

Gillian Courtenay

Deptuy Headteacher- SENDCo & Inclusion Lead

Georgie Gratton

Assistant Head – EYFS Leader

Teaching Staff - Early Years Foundation Stage

Charlotte Davies

Nursery Teacher

Reception Teachers

Katie Partridge



MA in Education in Professional Studies, University of Exeter.

PGCE in Primary and Early Years, Somerset SCITT and University of Worcester.

BA (Hons) in History & Journalism, 2:1, University of the West of England.

A Levels in English, History, Communication & Art. 

Responsibilities: Reception Teacher, Phonics Leader, Environment Leader


Since becoming a qualified teacher in 2012, I have worked in a range of different schools in Devon teaching across Key Stage 1 and the Early Years Foundation Stage. I have had the experience of different leadership roles including, managing the Early Years Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1  and leading English across the school. Between 2013 and 2016 I studied part-time, alongside teaching, to achieve my Masters in Education. My researched focused on the importance of play in Year 1. I have been teaching at Newport since 2017.

Amy Wilson

Year 1 Teachers

Sophie Ashton

Shelly Williams

Denise Kent Holman

Year 2 Teachers

Tracey Hooper

Laura Guy

Year 3 Teachers

Ed Sherwin


• Primary PGCE University of Plymouth

• Criminology BSc (Hons) University of Portsmouth 



• Class Teacher

• Computing Leader


Experience:  Having completed my PGCE training in schools in North Devon in 2005/6, I moved to Bristol where I taught in two schools in the Fishponds area and started leading IT. The majority of my teaching time has been with Key Stage One. After starting a family, I moved back to North Devon in 2014, and worked in a village school in Abbotsham, for a year before starting my role in Newport.

Sarah Maylin

Year 4 Teachers

Kirsten Edgell

Anna Bennet

Year 5 Teachers

Matthew Crewe


Charlotte Hewitt


PGCE National SCITT for Outstanding Primary Schools

BA joint Hons English Literature and History 2:1

A Levels- English, History and Psychology


Class Teacher

Art & Display leader


Since beginning my teaching career, I have had the experience of teaching six years of Year 6 pupils in different local schools  before moving to Newport Community School in 2018 where I continued to teach UKS2 pupils. In addition to this, I have had the opportunity to lead maths and science across a whole school setting as well as the role of mentoring and developing student teachers. 

Year 6 Teachers

Fran Hemmings

Annie Gregory

Qualifications: BEd (Hons) Primary Education (with QTS) with specialism in English and Music -  1st class

Developing Future Leader Training programme – National Teaching School (2014/15)

A Levels – English, Geography, Psychology and Sociology  


Level 1 coaching award in Hockey 

Level 1 coaching award in Netball



Class Teacher

Literacy Leader 


Experience:   After qualifying from The University of St. Mark & S. John in 2013, I moved back to North Devon and I was fortunate enough to obtain my first teaching position at Newport as a Newly Qualified Teacher. Ever since, Newport has allowed me to further my career and develop my skills, particularly in upper KS2 where I have taught year 5 for two years and then year 6 for four years. My interest in English has also allowed me to develop leadership of Literacy across the school, helping to enhance teaching and learning in this area. 

SEN CAIRB Teachers

Beth Temple -Thurston

Caroline Hurley

Additional Teachers

Danielle King



PGCE Devon Primary SCITT

LLB (Hons) 2:1

British Sign Language Level 1

A Levels- Graphic Design, English and Law


Class Teacher


Since 2010 I have gained experience teaching in a range of localities and contrasting school environments. Following my training with Devon Primary SCITT I relocated to start my teaching career in London, before going on to teach in Crewkerne and Wellington. In my previous setting I was Key Stage One Leader and a member of the Senior Leadership Team. I also lead the Creative Arts Faculty and Geography. I have been teaching at Newport since 2017. 

Dan Brewer

Specialist PE Teacher2017. 

Louisa Buttel

Deputy SendCo & Curriculum Support Teacher


Leading from the Middle – National College for School Leadership Teaching English as A Foreign Language 

PGCE Primary (Early Years) BA (Hons)

Comparative Literary Studies and English and American Literature

A levels: English Language and Literature, History and Biology


Responsibilities: Deputy SENDCo

 Curriculum Support Teacher

Global Learning Leader


Experience: Since beginning my teaching career at Newport in 2000, I have fulfilled a variety of roles at the school, including class teaching in all year groups from Y1 to Y6, leading in different areas of school and in a range of different curriculum areas. I also spent some time teaching English in a school for children with additional needs in India. During my time at Newport I have been School Based Tutor for Devon Primary SCITT and have led the school to achieving the full International School Award, in the establishment of different international links with other schools and in establishing our topic based curriculum. The main part of my current role is to support children and families with specific medical needs.